The Gen Con 2014 Blog Post

So here it is, my Gen Con 2014 blog post.

…it was meh…

Until next time!

Just kidding.

Gen Con was a blast! So much of a blast that I’ve been going to bed super early the last few nights and sleeping 8-9 hours solid.

I wasn’t as bad as some though. I met two guys that had power gamed Warmachine for 22 hours, took a 2-3 hour nap, and then went back into the convention. Talk about gamer dedication! Not sure I could pull that one off.

My first day at the convention was kind of a wash as far as getting to see the booths and play games goes. I DID get to play the Battletech Firestorm game pods. That was a blast!! I had (3x) 2-hour blocks for play testing Ship Strike starting right at 10AM…which was when the Exhibit Hall finally opened. Play testing went great! I met some cool people and got some very constructive feedback on the game.

image

Then from 8PM-10:20PM I pitched Ship Strike to 22 or so major publishers. What little buying I did do that day was spent mostly at the Catalyst Game Labs booth. That night I crashed hard.

Day 2 my brother (who accompanied me) and I slept in a bit and rolled into the convention late-ish. By late I mean 9:45AM. Our hotel was a good 30min away from the convention, and morning traffic was horrendous (more on Indianapolis traffic later…). But the day was way more productive as far as gaming went. Got in a demo game of Hawk Wargames’ “Dropzone Commander” and picked up the 2-player box set plus the UCM and Scourge command units.

image

image

image

I won the demo game against my brother. Real fast paced, and quick die roll resolutions. For all we had we got a game done in about 20min. It would have been less but our demo guy was doing his job and answering questions as people came up. Our demo guy (I’m really sorry, I don’t remember his name) was very knowledgeable about the game and made it a really enjoyable experience.

I love Dropzone Commander so far. Awesome plastic minis that have great detail. And everything is engineered to fit together. A Scourge dropship can carry 3 tanks or 2 APCs, and the miniatures are designed to do just that. Gameplay is fun too, and I look forward to playing with the command units and cards.

Our next stop was The D6 Generation podcast “Play By Mob”. We had a great hour n a half or so with Craig Gallant, Russ and Nicole Wakelan, and Raef Granger. I can’t wait to listen to the whole podcast when it finally goes live, and I’m excited to go again next year.

image

Lunch from Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse was pretty good. The fiancé and her daughter stopped in and we all sat on the floor of the convention center and hung out for a bit.

Then it was back into the Exhibit Hall for more games. Got in a game of Robotech RPG Tactics, and spotted the Privateer Press Man-O-War.

image

image

image

From there my brother and I split and I went and hit up the Battletech ‘Mech Grinder for ‘Mechy goodness.

image

I started with a 3025 Panther…it was tragic. But had a blast!

That night we were tired but still up for some gaming. My brother and I knocked out a quick game of “Encounters! Bravest Warriors” from Catalyst Game Labs. THAT is a fun game. 10-15 min will get 2 players through quickly. The game is a blast and really easy to pick up and learn. I was Catbug! My brother played Jelly Kid and won with 32pts.

image

We finished putting together our new Dropzone Commander stuff to end our second day.

image

Day 3 was another fun day. While the Wizkids booth was rediculous, I checked out Dream Pod 9 and got in a demo game of the new Heavy Gear Blitz beta rules…I lost. But had fun. 🙂

image

I bought the beta rulebook and two G.P. Squads.

I headed over to the Corvus Belli booth to see if I could get in a game of Infinity. No demo game, but they had a gal doing some awesome Pan Oceana cosplay.

image

Didn’t buy the starter box “Operation: Ice Storm” because I already pre-ordered mine on the Corvus Belli website.

Looked around a little more, bought the “Encounters! Bravest Warriors” blue deck box, played some more Battletech ‘Mech Grinder, tried out Shadowrun 5th edition (sorry I’m not a pencil-and-paper rpg player), and then called it a day. I was wiped out and ready for bed.

All in all a great three days. Driving there was a little redonculous. 9 hours from where I live to Indy.

What will I change next year?
First, get a hotel near the convention. That 30-40min drive was stupid, not to mention people in Indianapolis have no idea what proper driving is. I don’t think anyone there had heard of a blinker…that and when I got tired I had to go sit somewhere. It would have been nice to just walk back to the hotel and be able to grab a nap in the middle of the day.

Second, I will not playtest in the First Exposure Playtest Hall. It was a great experience and I met some really cool people. But it was draining and I missed out on a lot of gaming. Thinkin I’ll save my pennies and play test here in my home city for the price of 1-2 Little Ceaser’s Hot n Ready pizzas.

To anyone who hasn’t been I would definitely recommend going to Gen Con. Games from casual board games to miniature wargames are available and the people, cosplay, food, and beer is awesome!

image

One comment

  1. Pingback: Geekery – My Rediscovered Love of Dropzone Commander | THE RED RENEGADE

Leave a Reply

